Pin there. Done that. – the week I was defeated by paint.

Well y’all, we’re in the swing of the Christmas season. Houses gettin’ decorated, gifts bein’ bought and Christmas treats bakin’. It’s a wonderful time of year!

We’ve slowly started decorating, you know, as much as you can with 3 kids running behind you and moving what you’re doing, pulling mini pine cones off the new Christmas tree. It is so much fun! 🙂 Along with decorating the inside, this year I wanted to branch out and go outside with some easy decor. This weekend marks one year since we moved in, so I didn’t have much of an idea of what I wanted to do outside last year. This year, though, I’ve had my idea picked out for months!

If you’re a fan on Facebook, maybe you’ll remember this picture …

It’s the BIG reveal! 😛

Source: bhg.com via Tarah on Pinterest

 

This project was suppose to be simple and easy. Go to Walmart (which I detest) for those large kids’ rubber balls, get some silver/chrome spray paint and ribbon and BOOM! It’s done. Uhhh, not so much. The balls and ribbon were easy to get. The spray paint, while it is easy to purchase, picking the right one is a whole other story! I picked some up at HobLob for another project that I didn’t get to. I was going to use it, then I found some Rustoleum Chrome spray paint at Walmart. We went outside on Sunday and I started painting my balls (bwhahahah! I said balls!) and the wind was crazy. I was covered in silver paint (and got a few derogatory comments from my husband about the paint being all over me), but I was done painting plastic bouncy balls. EXCELLENT!

PROBLEM #1 – Hmmm, how am I going to make these balls stay in my yard?
Solution – Husband had stakes.

PROBLEM #2 – How am I going to get the stakes on the balls?
Solution – Fishing line around the balls. (In case you don’t, you should ALWAYS have some fishing line around the house. You never know when you might need it!)

Awesome! Let’s pick up these balls and get busy!

enter …

PROBLEM #3 – They aren’t DRY!
Solution – Let them dry over night.

24 hours later …

PROBLEM #INFINITE – They still aren’t DRY! Are you KIDDING me?

I put those bad boys out in the yard anyway, made some bows and BAM! I have big silver ornaments in my yard! And my hands are silver again ….

I’m going to go ahead and say it … while they LOOK fabulous and I know y’all are jealous of my silver balls! The spray paint was a big fat FAIL! Painted on Sunday, and today, they STILL are not dry.

How is everyone else’s holiday decorating coming along? I know Heather’s house is all prettied up with all the crafts she’s been doing!

Leave a comment